Spreadable Media Blog 5 – Artefact 2

The idea for this artefact was born out of something I find myself doing time and again when researching for my next guitar tech related purchase.

Gear demo videos are a popular way of finding out how a particular guitar effect pedal, amplifier or guitar actually sounds. Reviews are useful, but they are often not enough when making a decision. In my opinion it is vitally important to be able to form your opinion on a piece of guitar tech to be sure it is right for you before parting with your cash. Gear demos are extremely handy if you are in a situation where you are unable to visit a local music shop to try things out for yourself, or if your local shop doesn’t stock what you are looking for.

Predictions

With my guitar pedal demo video I am not expecting to achieve anywhere near 1,000,000 views. From searching “guitar pedal demo” on YouTube the most viewed video has clocked up 779,486 views. Here it is:

Unfortunately Expert Village, the makers of the video above seem to be an exception in regularly attracting over 500,000 on their videos. However, there are a good amount that have made the 100,000 mark, and I’d certainly be chuffed I could achieve anything close to that.

Guitars are played and love by people all over the world, therefore I am expecting my video to attract an international audience. Music is a universal language after all!

The demand for guitar tech demo videos continues to be great among players and so I expect a steady stream of traffic.

The making of Marshall SuperVibe SV-1 Chorus Pedal Demo ft. Fender Nashville Telecaster & ’65 Princeton Reverb re.

Although I concentrated on demonstrating the Marshall SuperVibe SV-1 chorus pedal  I included the details of the guitar, amp and overdrive pedal I was using in the title and tags of the video. This may it might attract more viewers who are interested in how these other pieces of guitar equipment perform.

The SV-1 pedal is capable of many different types of chorus and modulation effects and so I wanted to highlight the variation that is possible. I chose to demonstrate 3 settings that are recommended by Marshall and which I happen to really like and use. I did tweak one of them slightly to gain a richer chorus effect.

All audio from the amplifier was recorded in mono using an SM58 placed close to the speaker cone. The signal was sent to Ableton Live via XLR cable. The acoustic guitar for the “Classic Vibrato” demo (third one) was recorded using a Studio Projects B1 mk1 mic.

I did do a little bit of audio post production before syncing with the video. To the mono guitar tracks I added a touch of stereo reverb just to fill out the stereo sound field and make things a little more aesthetically pleasing. Editing was carried out to the performances themselves in order to retain authenticity.

My video differs to many gear demos in that I do not talk at all. In my video the equipment does the talking. I often get frustrated with some gear demo videos which feature people talking as I feel most of the time there is no need for it. A short verbal explanation would suffice rather than minutes of unnecessary spiel about things which could have easily just been demonstrated by just getting on and playing!

I included graphics I made in Photoshop to clearly display each different setting so that people can easily recreate them on their own SuperVibe pedals.

Can this artefact succeed as a piece of spreadable media? Will it fair better than Artefact 1? Stay tuned for updates.

This entry was posted in Audio, guitar effects, retechsocial, Spreadable media, youtube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spreadable Media Blog 5 – Artefact 2

  1. Pingback: Spreadable Media Blog 11 – Artefact 2 analysis | guregor11

Leave a Reply

