Spreadable Media Project Blog 1 – Initial idea no.1

And so, on to the next part of the ReTechSocial module.

Over the coming weeks I will be creating 3 or more pieces of media to upload to the www. The key thing about each will be that they are spreadable, i.e designed so that people will appreciate them so much that they feel compelled to share them and thus, spread the word.

This is going to prove a tricky project. Not only do I need to think hard about the type of media I want to create; I also need to come up with strategies to market each artefact.

Success will be measured not by how much traffic the artefacts are able to attract, but on the methodology that is employed to ensure their maximum reach and engagement with their intended audience.

The networks I have already built will prove vital to the success of my artefacts. Contacts within music and radio, as well as friends on Twitter, Facebook YouTube, SoundCloud and WordPress are all going to come in to play.

I also recognise that I will need to take a closer look into web-based communities such as Reddit, and other social technologies such as Tumblr in order build my knowledge and strengthen my campaigns.

Idea 1 – Binaural Recording of a live Glass Ankle performance

This is an idea I have been harbouring for a while. I feel this project might be the perfect opportunity to implement it.

Potential Demographic

  • People interested in discovering new, original music. Including:
    • Those whom our alt-pop/folk music may appeal to.
    • Local people passionate about new music by bands from Manchester.
    • People from further-a-field who are interested in music from Manchester/the UK.
    • Record Label A&R types
    • Media – Radio, TV
    • Gig promoters
  • Audio professionals and enthusiasts

As the band currently is not widely known outside of the North West, this recording will need to be highly novel to attract attention.  Although a cover version may generate greater traffic initially, I feel we would benefit more by using the recording as a way to bring exposure to our own music.

I am undecided as to whether to record using Soundman in-ear mics or with a type 4100 B&K Dummy head (all of which are available at the UoS Newton building studios). After experimenting with both technologies last year I have found they each have their pros and cons.

I am confident I could capture a true binaural recording with the dummy head, the quality of which would be superior to that achieved using in-ear microphones. The main drawback is that location-wise I would be limited as it is unavailable for use outside of the main university campus.

Although sound and possibly audio image quality may be compromised, the in-ear microphones would provide much more options when it came to the type of performance and location I could use.

Platform: YouTube

YouTube is one of the most viewed websites in the world, boasting over 800 million unique users each month (take a look!). To give it any chance of reaching its intended demographic and wider audiences, this recording will need to be made available on YouTube as the site is more often than not the first port of call for those wanting to check out new bands.

YouTube is first and foremost a video channel, therefore the importance of an engaging visual is massive when it comes spreadability. Static images in this case simply won’t do. Also, the recording equipment I choose could have a direct impact on the accompanying video. Here are the ideas I have generated so far:

  • A live video taken from the dummy head’s perspective.
  • Fitting the cameraperson with in-ear mics so that both the video and sound will be from their perspective. Perhaps having them roam whilst the band is playing may produce some nice results.

Whilst researching ideas for binaural recordings for last years Digital Studio Production module, I found that the most impressive and effective binaural YouTube videos were those which were accompanied by footage taken at the same time as the audio was recorded from the perspective of the recordist/dummy head. Here’s a great example:

I believe including this level of visual information will, in the case of my video, enhance the 3D sound experience.

I will also look into placing the recording on SoundCloud and Vimeo. Although they do not have as many people visiting, these sites have more of a sense of community about them which may help build a ‘buzz’ around it.

I am looking forward to sharing ideas and brainstorming in relation to Spreadable Media artefacts with my fellow students in the lectures to come. I am intrigued and excited to see the variety of media that will ultimately be produced.

Stay tuned for my next spreadable media artefact idea….. it’s guaranteed to surprise a few people!

This entry was posted in Audio, blogging, Glass Ankle, Networking, Research Methods, Spreadable media, youtube and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

